Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Carl Laberge appointed Chair of Association of Canadian Port Authorities

At its Annual General Meeting held on September 14, the Association of Canadian Port Authorities (ACPA) appointed Carl Laberge, General Manager and CEO of the Saguenay Port Authority, as Chair of its Board of Directors for a two-year term.

Mr. Laberge, a Civil Engineer, was most recently Vice-Chair of the ACPA Board of Directors and joined the Port of Saguenay in 2010, acting as its General Manager and CEO since 2014.

“I am proud and honoured,” he declared , “to have been elected Chair of the ACPA Board of Directors and thank the Board members for their trust. We will diligently pursue the Association’s efforts in representing the port community at all levels of government, engaging with partners and Canadians, and promoting our strategic role at the economic, social and environmental level.”

Also joining the Board of Directors this year is the Belledune Port Authority’s President and CEO, Denis Caron.

The mandates of the remaining six Board members were also re-confirmed, including Hamilton-Oshawa’s Ian Hamilton as Vice-Chair and Ian Marr of Nanaimo as Secretary/Treasurer. The 2021-2022 ACPA Board of Directors is now comprised of:

  • Carl Laberge, Chair (Saguenay)
  • Ian Hamilton, Vice-Chair (Hamilton-Oshawa)
  • Ian Marr, Secretary and Treasurer (Nanaimo)
  • Mario Girard (Quebec)
  • Steve Salmons (Windsor)
  • Robin Silvester (Vancouver)
  • Captain Allan Gray (Halifax)
  • Denis Caron (Belledune)

“I sincerely thank my predecessor, Jim Quinn, and our ACPA team, who have brilliantly helped the organization evolve over the past few years. ACPA is recognized today as a key player by governments and partners alike. We congratulate our colleague on his appointment to the Senate and we are convinced that his in-depth knowledge of maritime issues and sustained involvement in the port industry will be a major asset for Canada’s development,” added Mr. Laberge.