Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Canada among countries signing joint statement marking World Oceans Day

OTTAWA –  Prime Minister Trudeau was among world leaders signing a joint statement by the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy marking World Oceans Day:

“Today, we celebrate World Oceans Day under unprecedented circumstances, as the world battles the COVID-19 pandemic and its associated health and economic challenges,” the statement said. “We, the members of the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy, propose the ocean as a solution to a more resilient and prosperous world. This will be more important than ever as we embark on post-COVID-19 recovery.

“Blue nature is central to the planet and its people. The ocean covers over 70 per cent of the earth’s surface, absorbs about a quarter of all carbon emissions, and captures more than 90 per cent of the additional heat they generate. A fundamental building block of the global economy, it contributes over $2.5 trillion annually in value-added services, feeds over three billion people, provides a livelihood for over three billion people, and transports around 90 per cent of world trade. It is also a source of renewable energy and key ingredients for fighting disease. And it can do more if we sustainably manage it.

“World leaders must value the ocean in recovery from the COVID-19 crisis. In a sustainable ocean economy, effective protection, sustainable production and equitable prosperity go hand-in-hand. Investing in a sustainable ocean economy is an excellent deal: it has considerable benefits for the global economy, the ocean and societal well-being.”

The signatories:

Scott Morrison, Prime Minister of Australia

Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada

Sebastian Piñera, President of Chile

Frank Bainimarama, Prime Minister of the Republic of Fiji

Nana Akufo-Addo, President of the Republic of Ghana

Joko Widodo, President of the Republic of Indonesia

Shinzō Abe, Prime Minister of Japan

Andrew Holness, Prime Minister of Jamaica

Uhuru Kenyatta, President of the Republic of Kenya

Andrés Manuel López Obrador, President of Mexico

Hage G. Geingob, President of the Republic of Namibia

Erna Solberg, Prime Minister of Norway

Tommy Remengesau, Jr., President of the Republic of Palau

António Costa, Prime Minister of Portugal