Port of Montreal’s Tony Boemi leaves big legacy

Port of Montreal’s Tony Boemi leaves big legacy

 

By Leo Ryan, Editor

On the last Day of April, a key architect of the success and growth of the Port of Montreal in recent years moved officially into retirement from his position as Vice-President, Growth and Development. What a significant legacy Tony Boemi has left!

Coincidentally enough, his departure after 13 years with the port came just four months after Sylvie Vachon made way for Martin Imbleau as President and CEO after steering the helm of Canada’s second largest port for 11 years.

Comments conveyed by Tony Boemi on Linkedin and to Maritime Magazine offered good insights on the factors that contributed to his own achievements.

One should probably start with this message: “Suffice it to say that I could not have asked for a more fulfilling and rewarding career, and I would say that one of the main reasons for my success is due to working for and with exceptional people – learning from their strengths and applying them throughout my career.”

Then followed a list of the individuals he singled out as having had the greatest impact on his professional life, notably helping him to overcome many work challenges. The names:  John J. Ryan, Paul Jones, Peter Petsanis, Cully Keane, Bill Newton, Jeremy Masters, Michel Beauregard. Holger Oetjen, Sylvie Vachon.

Throughout a career that spanned 45 years, Mr. Boemi travelled the four corners of the world and had the occasion to meet prime ministers, premiers, governors and officials from different levels of government.

 When attempting to summarize chief character traits that surface during his encounters with people from all circles, words like intensity, dedication and enthusiasm come to mind. Add to this infectious laughter upon occasion.

During the early period, he was part of an organization that acquired nine container carriers under the CP Ships umbrella. Then he worked briefly for Hapag-Lloyd before joining the Montreal Port Authority in 2008.

There is an impressive number of highlights marking his business development initiatives at the Port of Montreal.

Among these was the establishment of an agency network with representation in Europe, Asia and the United States – a first of its kind for the port.

This network fostered the port’s market expansion into Asia, which now represents over 25% of Montreal’s container business (totaling 1.6 million TEUs).

Three major port collaboration agreements were concluded, involving the Port of Antwerp (Montreal’s leading maritime trade partner), Adani ports (India) and HAROPA (grouping Le Havre, Rouen and Paris).

Mr. Boemi had the opportunity to meet with Egyptian port authorities and toured the Suez Canal on the boat (per photo) that had belonged to former President Hosni Mubarak.

He hosted annual receptions in Montreal, Toronto and the strategic Midwest centres of Chicago and Detroit as well as receptions in Mumbai and Ho Chi Min (former Saigon).

In this regard, Mr. Boemi remarks: “I would say that’s what sets Montreal apart from other ports, as it builds strong bonds with our customers, and customers have a direct contact with the port stakeholders during critical events.”

Mr. Boemi participated in a trade mission with the Port of Halifax and CN which included stops in India, Vietnam and Hong Kong. Recalling a particularly memorable moment, he noted: “While in Vietnam, we ate at the REX Hotel in Ho Chi Min which American generals frequented during the Vietnam War.”

To round out the list of accomplishments, Mr. Boemi was instrumental in the development of Montreal’s cruise business, which quadrupled over the last 10 years to 110,000 passengers. This prompted the construction of a brand new state-of-the art cruise terminal.

Meanwhile, well-informed sources at the time of writing indicated that Tony Boemi had already begun to celebrate his retirement by engaging in his favourite hobby – trying to break 100 on various golf courses in the Montreal area…

 

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on email
Email

Recent articles

Subscription

Receive your print copies at home or at work so you can read and consult them comfortably and at your leisure!

Online magazine

Access our virtual space where you will find our different issues in digital format! All in one place!

Categories

Port of Montreal’s Tony Boemi leaves big legacy

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on google
Google+
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest

Publicités

[adrotate group="1"]

Articles Récents

Catégories

Tony Boemi du port de Montréal laisse un grand héritage

 

Par Leo Ryan, rédacteur en chef

Le dernier jour d’avril, l’un des principaux artisans du succès et de la croissance du port de Montréal au cours des dernières années a officiellement pris sa retraite de son poste de vice-président, croissance et développement. Quel héritage significatif Tony Boemi a laissé!

Par coïncidence, son départ après 13 ans avec le port est intervenu quatre mois seulement après que Sylvie Vachon a cédé la place à Martin Imbleau au poste de président et chef de la direction après avoir dirigé le deuxième plus grand port du Canada pendant 11 ans.

Les commentaires transmis par Tony Boemi sur LinkedIn et à Maritime Magazine ont offert un bel aperçu sur les facteurs qui ont contribué à ses propres réalisations.

Il faut probablement commencer par ce message: «Qu’il suffise de dire que je n’aurais pas pu rêver d’une carrière plus épanouissante et enrichissante, et je dirais que l’une des principales raisons de mon succès est d’avoir travaillé pour et avec des personnes exceptionnelles – apprendre de leurs forces et les appliquer tout au long de ma carrière. »

Vient ensuite une liste des personnes qu’il a identifiées comme ayant eu le plus grand impact sur sa vie professionnelle, l’aidant notamment à surmonter de nombreux défis professionnels. Des noms comme: John J. Ryan, Paul Jones, Peter Petsanis, Cully Keane, Bill Newton, Jeremy Masters, Michel Beauregard, Holger Oetjen, Sylvie Vachon.

Au cours d’une carrière de 45 ans, M. Boemi a parcouru les quatre coins du monde et a eu l’occasion de rencontrer des premiers ministres, des présidents, des gouverneurs et des fonctionnaires de différents paliers de gouvernement.

 Lorsqu’il tente de résumer les principaux traits de caractère qui surgissent lors de ses rencontres avec des gens de tous les milieux, des mots comme l’intensité, le dévouement et l’enthousiasme viennent à l’esprit. Ajoutez ce rire contagieux à l’occasion.

Au début, il faisait partie d’une organisation qui a acquis neuf porte-conteneurs sous l’égide de CP Ships. Puis il a travaillé brièvement pour Hapag-Lloyd avant de se joindre à l’Administration portuaire de Montréal en 2008.

Il y a un nombre impressionnant de faits saillants marquant ses initiatives de développement des affaires au Port de Montréal.

Parmi celles-ci figurait la création d’un réseau d’agences avec une représentation en Europe, en Asie et aux États-Unis – une première du genre pour le port.

Ce réseau a favorisé l’expansion du marché du port en Asie, qui représente désormais plus de 25% de l’activité conteneurs de Montréal (totalisant 1,6 million d’EVP).

Trois accords majeurs de collaboration portuaire ont été conclus, impliquant le port d’Anvers (premier partenaire commercial maritime de Montréal), les ports d’Adani (Inde) et HAROPA (regroupant Le Havre, Rouen et Paris).

M. Boemi a eu l’occasion de rencontrer les autorités portuaires égyptiennes et de visiter le canal de Suez sur le bateau (notre photo) qui avait appartenu à l’ancien président Hosni Moubarak.

Il a animé des réceptions annuelles à Montréal, Toronto et dans les centres stratégiques du Midwest de Chicago et Detroit ainsi que des réceptions à Mumbai et Ho Chi Min (anciennement Saigon).

À cet égard, M. Boemi fait remarquer: «Je dirais que c’est ce qui distingue Montréal des autres ports, car cela crée des liens solides avec nos clients, et les clients ont un contact direct avec les intervenants portuaires lors d’événements critiques.

M. Boemi a participé à une mission commerciale avec le port de Halifax qui comprenait des escales en Inde, au Vietnam et à Hong Kong. Rappelant un moment particulièrement mémorable, il a noté: «Pendant notre séjour au Vietnam, nous avons mangé à l’hôtel REX à Ho Chi Min que les généraux américains ont fréquenté pendant la guerre du Vietnam.

Pour compléter la liste des réalisations, M. Boemi a joué un rôle déterminant dans le développement de l’activité de croisière à Montréal, qui a quadruplé au cours des 10 dernières années pour atteindre 110 000 passagers. Cela a incité la construction d’un tout nouveau terminal de croisière ultramoderne.

Pendant ce temps, des sources bien informées au moment de la rédaction de cet article ont indiqué que Tony Boemi avait déjà commencé à célébrer sa retraite en s’adonnant à son passe-temps favori – essayer de battre 100 sur divers terrains de golf de la région de Montréal …

Partager sur facebook
Facebook
Partager sur twitter
Twitter
Partager sur linkedin
LinkedIn
Partager sur pinterest
Pinterest
Partager sur email
Email

Articles récents

Abonnement

Recevez Maritime Magazine directement chez vous!

Magazine en ligne

Accédez à notre espace virtuel dans lequel vous trouverez nos différents magazines en format numérique ! Tout à un même endroit !

Catégories