Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Joint statement on limited resumption of work in the Arctic Council

Ottawa – Canada, Finland, Iceland, the Kingdom of Denmark, Norway, Sweden and the United States, today issued the following statement:

“In response to Russia’s full-scale invasion of Ukraine—a flagrant violation of the principles of sovereignty and territorial integrity, based on international law—the other founding states of the Arctic Council—Canada, Finland, Iceland, the Kingdom of Denmark, Norway, Sweden and the United States—on March 3 announced a pause in their participation in the Arctic Council. Since March 3, representatives from these states have examined modalities to allow a resumption of the work of the Arctic Council.

“We remain convinced of the enduring value of the Arctic Council for circumpolar cooperation and reiterate our support for this forum and its important work.

“We intend to implement a limited resumption of our work in the Arctic Council on projects that do not involve the participation of the Russian Federation. These projects, contained in the work plan approved by all 8 Arctic states at the Reykjavik ministerial, are a vital component of our responsibility to the peoples of the Arctic, including Indigenous peoples.

“We continue to examine additional modalities to allow us to further continue the council’s important work.”

Image: Wikipidea