Montreal police investigating alleged violent clash amidst docker strike

Montreal police investigating alleged violent clash amidst docker strike

Photo: CUPE375

By Leo Ryan, Editor

Montreal police are investigating a confrontation between striking longshoremen and management staff of maritime employers that allegedly erupted into violence Wednesday night, according to a report from Canadian Press news agency. The Maritime Employers Association (MEA) hastily called a press conference today (Thursday) to strongly condemn the incident.

 The union, CUPE 375, on Monday called a four-day strike by 1,100 dockers after prolonged negotiations with the MEA remained deadlocked. Working schedules are reported to be the biggest outstanding issue in the negotiations to renew a collective agreement that expired on Dec. 31, 2018.

Canadian Press indicated that Montreal police received a call around 7 pm on Wednesday night that a crowd of dockworkers had threatened and attacked some of the executives and their security guards near the Olympic Stadium. “There were some assaults and also some thefts,” said police spokeswoman Caroline Chevrefils.

The dockers had left the scene by the time police arrived to take statements.

At a press conference, MEA President Martin Tessier said about two-dozen managers (doing replacement work) were exiting a shuttle bus after helping to move containers at the Termont container terminal  when a dispute broke out with at least 50 dockers in the stadium parking lot.

He affirmed that some employees were hit in the face and had their wallets and phones stolen, but fortunately no one was seriously injured.

“We did train some management people (to handle containers)”, Mr. Tessier said. “We didn’t take people from outside to do the work, but nonetheless the union was not happy.”

“It went bad,” Mr. Tessier said, adding: “There is no provocation in the world that deserves any intimidation, physically or verbally.”

Earlier this week, Michel Murray, spokesman for CUPE 375, said that deploying executives to handle waterfront tasks traditionally carried out longshoremen constituted an “affront” tantamount to “a declaration of war.”

MEA President Martin Tessier

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on email
Email

Recent articles

Subscription

Receive your print copies at home or at work so you can read and consult them comfortably and at your leisure!

Online magazine

Access our virtual space where you will find our different issues in digital format! All in one place!

Categories

Montreal police investigating alleged violent clash amidst docker strike

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on google
Google+
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest

Publicités

[adrotate group="1"]

Articles Récents

Catégories

La police de Montréal enquête sur un affrontement violent présumé au milieu d’une grève des débardeurs

Photo: SCFP 375

Par Leo Ryan, Rédacteur en chef

La police de Montréal enquête sur une confrontation entre des débardeurs en grève et le personnel de direction d’employeurs maritimes qui aurait dégénéré en violence mercredi soir, selon un rapport de l’agence de la Presse canadienne. L’Association des employeurs maritimes (AEM) a convoqué à la hâte une conférence de presse aujourd’hui (jeudi) pour condamner fermement l’incident.

Le syndicat, le SCFP 375, a appelé lundi à une grève de quatre jours pour 1 100 débardeurs après que de longues négociations avec l’AEM soient restées dans l’impasse. Les horaires de travail seraient le plus gros problème en suspens dans les négociations pour renouveler une convention collective qui a expiré le 31 décembre 2018.

La Presse canadienne a indiqué que la police de Montréal avait reçu un appel vers 19 h mercredi soir indiquant qu’une foule de débardeurs avait menacé et attaqué certains des cadres et leurs gardes de sécurité près du stade olympique. «Il y a eu des agressions et aussi des vols», a déclaré la porte-parole de la police Caroline Chevrefils.

Les débardeurs avaient quitté les lieux au moment où la police est arrivée pour recueillir les déclarations.

Lors d’une conférence de presse, le président de l’AEM, Martin Tessier, a déclaré qu’environ deux douzaines de gestionnaires (effectuant des travaux de remplacement) sortaient d’une navette après avoir aidé à déplacer des conteneurs au terminal à conteneurs de Termont lorsqu’un différend a éclaté avec au moins 50 débardeurs dans le stationnement du stade .

Il a affirmé que certains employés ont été frappés au visage et se sont fait voler leur portefeuille et leur téléphone, mais heureusement, personne n’a été gravement blessé.

«Nous avons formé des cadres (à la manipulation des conteneurs)», a déclaré M. Tessier. «Nous n’avons pas emmené des gens de l’extérieur pour faire le travail, mais le syndicat n’était néanmoins pas content.»

« Cela a mal tourné », a déclaré M. Tessier, ajoutant: « Il n’y a aucune provocation au monde qui mérite l’intimidation physique ou verbale. »

Plus tôt cette semaine, Michel Murray, porte-parole du SCFP 375, a déclaré que le déploiement de cadres pour gérer les tâches au bord de l’eau traditionnellement effectuées par des débardeurs constituait un «affront» équivalant à «une déclaration de guerre».  

Martin Tessier, président de l’AEM

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on email
Email

Articles récents

Abonnement

Recevez Maritime Magazine directement chez vous!

Magazine en ligne

Accédez à notre espace virtuel dans lequel vous trouverez nos différents magazines en format numérique ! Tout à un même endroit !

Catégories