Montreal Port Authority is concerned with the dockworker’s possible indefinite general strike

Montreal Port Authority is concerned with the dockworker’s possible indefinite general strike

The Montreal Port Authority (MPA) is very concerned, especially during this pandemic and time of economic crisis, about the serious impacts resulting from the strike episodes by dockworkers at the Port of Montreal, including the indefinite general notice that the Longshoremen Union, CUPE Local 375, sent to the Maritime Employers Association (MEA) this morning.

This 72 hours’ advance notice is for an indefinite general strike that will start on Monday, August 10 at 7 a.m., resulting in the suspension of berthage services normally provided by longshoremen/longshorewomen and the handling of goods in the Port of Montreal terminals. The following will not be affected by this situation: liquid bulk handling, the Oceanex service (Bickerdike Terminal) and the grain terminal (Viterra).

The MPA is very concerned about these work stoppages affecting public health and safety during a global pandemic, as port operations are essential to keep the economy running smoothly and to supply food and other essential products. A prolonged stoppage in port operations has major repercussions for Canadian businesses that depend on international trade and, ultimately, for the supply of goods and services to the public. 

This indefinite strike, staring Monday morning, is the fourth work stoppage by dockworkers at the Port of Montreal since July 2, 2020.  

A strike with no time limit will aggravate the impact already hitting the Port of Montreal, which is the driving force behind an ecosystem of 6,300 transport businesses and the source of 19,000 direct, indirect and induced jobs.

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on email
Email

Recent articles

Subscription

Receive your print copies at home or at work so you can read and consult them comfortably and at your leisure!

Online magazine

Access our virtual space where you will find our different issues in digital format! All in one place!

Categories

Montreal Port Authority is concerned with the dockworker’s possible indefinite general strike

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on google
Google+
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest

Publicités

[adrotate group="1"]

Articles Récents

Catégories

L’administration du port de Montréal s’inquiète de la grève générale illimitée prévue par le Syndicat des débardeurs

L’Administration portuaire de Montréal (APM) est hautement préoccupée, tout particulièrement en cette période de pandémie et de crise économique, des impacts importants découlant des épisodes de grève des débardeurs au port de Montréal, incluant le préavis de grève générale illimitée transmis au matin du 7 juillet par le Syndicat des débardeurs SCFP section locale 375 à l’Association des employeurs maritimes (AEM). 

Ce préavis de 72 heures prévoit une grève générale illimitée des débardeurs débutant le lundi 10 août à 7 h, entraînant la suspension des services d’amarrage ordinairement fournis par les débardeurs ainsi que la manutention des marchandises dans les terminaux du port de Montréal. La manutention de vrac liquide, le service Oceanex (terminal Bickerdike) et le terminal céréalier (Viterra) ne seront pas touchés par cette situation. 

L’APM est très préoccupée par cet arrêt de travail pour la santé et la sécurité du public dans cette période de pandémie mondiale, car les activités portuaires sont essentielles à la bonne marche de l’économie et pour le ravitaillement, entre autres, des produits alimentaires et autres biens essentiels. Un arrêt des opérations portuaires a des répercussions importantes pour les entreprises canadiennes qui dépendent du commerce international et, ultimement, pour l’approvisionnement en biens et produits pour les citoyens.

Cette grève illimitée qui débutera dès le lundi matin 10 août constitue le quatrième arrêt de travail des débardeurs au port de Montréal depuis le 2 juillet dernier.

Une grève illimitée viendra accentuer les impacts déjà bien présents pour le Port de Montréal, qui est le moteur d’un écosystème composé de 6300 entreprises en transport et la source de 19 000 emplois directs, indirects et induits.

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on email
Email

Articles récents

Abonnement

Recevez Maritime Magazine directement chez vous!

Magazine en ligne

Accédez à notre espace virtuel dans lequel vous trouverez nos différents magazines en format numérique ! Tout à un même endroit !

Catégories