Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Dutch court orders Shell to reduce CO2 emissions by 45%

 

A Dutch court has ordered supermajor Shell to significantly slash its carbon emissions, setting the stage for potential lawsuits against other oil and gas companies and big polluters globally.

For the first time in history, a judge has held a corporation liable for causing dangerous climate change. As a result of legal action brought by Friends of the Earth Netherlands (Milieudefensie) together with 17,000 co-plaintiffs and six other organisations the court in The Hague ruled that Shell must reduce its CO2 emissions by 45% within 10 years. 

Donald Pols, director of Friends of the Earth Netherlands said: “This is a monumental victory for our planet, for our children and a big leap towards a liveable future for everyone.The judge has left no room for doubt: Shell is causing dangerous climate change and must stop its destructive behaviour now.“

Roger Cox, lawyer for Friends of the Earth Netherlands, is also delighted: “This is a turning point in history. This case is unique because it is the first time a judge has ordered a large polluting corporation to comply with the Paris Climate Agreement. This ruling may also have major consequences for other big polluters.”

The ruling from the court in The Hague will have major ramifications internationally, said Sara Shaw from Friends of the Earth International: “This is a landslide victory for climate justice. Our hope is that this verdict will trigger a wave of climate litigation against big polluters, to force them to stop extracting and burning fossil fuels. This result is a win for communities in the global South who face devastating climate impacts now.”

Donald Pols concluded: “This verdict is an enormous step forward for the international climate movement. One of the world’s biggest polluters has finally been held responsible. I am filled with hope for the future, as we know that the climate crisis does not wait and does not stop at our borders. That is why it is so important that the judge is now forcing Shell to take responsibility for its actions. This is also a clear signal to the other big polluters must stop wrecking the climate.”

The Anglo-Dutch oil and gas giant is expected to appeal the decision. 

“Urgent action is needed on climate change, which is why we have accelerated our efforts to become a net-zero emission energy company by 2050,”  Shell declared in a written response. “We are investing billions of dollars in low-carbon energy, including electric vehicle charging, hydrogen, renewables and biofuels.”  Furthermore, “We will continue to focus on these efforts and fully expect to appeal today’s disappointing court decision.”

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on email
Email

Recent articles

Subscription

Receive your print copies at home or at work so you can read and consult them comfortably and at your leisure!

Online magazine

Access our virtual space where you will find our different issues in digital format! All in one place!

Categories

Dutch court orders Shell to reduce CO2 emissions by 45%

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on google
Google+
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest

Publicités

[adrotate group="1"]

Articles Récents

Catégories

Un tribunal néerlandais ordonne à Shell de réduire ses émissions de CO2 de 45%

 

Un tribunal néerlandais a ordonné à la supermajeure Shell de réduire considérablement ses émissions de carbone, ouvrant la voie à des poursuites potentielles contre d’autres sociétés pétrolières et gazières et de gros pollueurs dans le monde.

Pour la première fois dans l’histoire, un juge a tenu une société responsable d’avoir causé un changement climatique dangereux. À la suite d’une action en justice intentée par Friends of the Earth Netherlands (Milieudefensie) avec 17000 codemandeurs et six autres organisations, le tribunal de La Haye a décidé que Shell devait réduire ses émissions de CO2 de 45% d’ici 10 ans.

Donald Pols, directeur des Amis de la Terre Pays-Bas a déclaré: «C’est une victoire monumentale pour notre planète, pour nos enfants et un grand pas vers un avenir vivable pour tous. Le juge n’a laissé aucune place au doute: Shell crée un climat dangereux et doit arrêter son comportement destructeur maintenant.

Roger Cox, avocat des Amis de la Terre Pays-Bas, se réjouit également: «C’est un tournant dans l’histoire. Cette affaire est unique, car c’est la première fois qu’un juge ordonne à une grande entreprise polluante de se conformer à l’Accord de Paris sur le climat. Cette décision peut également avoir des conséquences majeures pour d’autres gros pollueurs. »

La décision du tribunal de La Haye aura des ramifications majeures au niveau international, a déclaré Sara Shaw de Friends of the Earth international: «C’est une victoire écrasante pour la justice climatique. Notre espoir est que ce verdict déclenchera une vague de litiges climatiques contre les gros pollueurs, pour les forcer à arrêter d’extraire et de brûler des combustibles fossiles. Ce résultat est une victoire pour les communautés des pays du Sud qui sont actuellement confrontées à des impacts climatiques dévastateurs. »

Donald Pols a conclu: «Ce verdict est un énorme pas en avant pour le mouvement climatique international. L’un des plus gros pollueurs du monde a finalement été tenu pour responsable. Je suis plein d’espoir pour l’avenir, car nous savons que la crise climatique n’attend pas et ne s’arrête pas à nos frontières. C’est pourquoi il est si important que le juge oblige désormais Shell à assumer la responsabilité de ses actes. C’est aussi un signal clair aux autres grands pollueurs qui doivent cesser de détruire le climat. »

Le géant pétrolier et gazier anglo-néerlandais devrait faire appel de cette décision.

 «Une action urgente est nécessaire pour lutter contre le changement climatique, c’est pourquoi nous avons accéléré nos efforts pour devenir une société d’énergie à émissions nettes nulles d’ici 2050», a déclaré Shell par une réponse écrite. «Nous investissons des milliards de dollars dans l’énergie à faible émission de carbone, y compris la recharge des véhicules électriques, l’hydrogène, les énergies renouvelables et les biocarburants.» En outre, «Nous continuerons de nous concentrer sur ces efforts et nous espérons pleinement faire appel de la décision judiciaire décevante d’aujourd’hui.

Partager sur facebook
Facebook
Partager sur twitter
Twitter
Partager sur linkedin
LinkedIn
Partager sur pinterest
Pinterest
Partager sur email
Email

Articles récents

Abonnement

Recevez Maritime Magazine directement chez vous!

Magazine en ligne

Accédez à notre espace virtuel dans lequel vous trouverez nos différents magazines en format numérique ! Tout à un même endroit !

Catégories