Desgagnés vessel shipping containers to Toronto

Desgagnés vessel shipping containers to Toronto

 

By Leo Ryan, Editor

The Claude A. Desgagnés, part of the general cargo and bulker fleet of Quebec City-based Groupe Desgagnés, is shipping some 400 containers from Montreal to Toronto via the St. Lawrence Seaway. A geared vessel that can load and unload containers when required, it departed yesterday. This follows an arrangement with MSC Canada in response to lingering congestion issues on the railway networks and at the ports of Montreal and Halifax following a series of docker strikes on the Montreal waterfront which caused vessel diversions.

While stressing the shipment was “definitely not a liner service,”  Alexandre Beauchamp-Parent, President of Navigation Desgagnés, strongly hinted it represented more than a single-voyage, shortsea shipping initiative.

“We are always looking for creative solution opportunities and alternative options to transportation problems,” he told Maritime Magazine.

Mr. Beauchamp-Parent affirmed that evidence pointed to a business case “for continuing with other similar voyages” that could include containers coming back to Montreal. A second Montreal-Toronto voyage is presently under discussion for sometime in November.

“You need a lot of ingredients to make a good recipe – but there looks to be a good business case,” he said, adding: “It is quite a team effort between ourselves, MSC, the Port of Montreal, the Port of Toronto, Termont terminal, and Logistec. We are going to see if we can make this option grow.”

Shippers in the Toronto-Hamilton region (the so-called Golden Horseshoe) account for the biggest volume of the 1.7 million export and import containers handled at the Port of Montreal.

An industry source commented that “Desgagnés is capitalizing on a window of opportunity between now and the end of the Seaway season in late December. Also many of the containers being shipped are heavy load boxes more difficult to move by rail.”

Tony Boemi, VP Growth and Development for the Montreal Port Authority, said ”a primary purpose of the first voyage was to decongest Termont terminal. Otherwise, traffic flow is not yet quite back to normal at the Port of Montreal and the backlog could last another two weeks.” 

Meanwhile, the Port of Montreal hailed the shipment, declaring: “This is the first time in over a decade that such a shipment has happened. In fact, the practice of container cabotage from Montreal to the Great Lakes has been abandoned since the early 1980s. A service was considered in 2009, but was quickly decommissioned in favour of transit by truck or rail.

Thanks to the collaboration between Mediterranean Shipping Company and Groupe Desgagnés, Ontario consumers and businesses can once again benefit from this shipping solution, which offers importers and exporters an alternative and often provides cost and time savings as well as a cleaner transportation solution.” (photo Port of Montreal)

 

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on email
Email

Recent articles

Subscription

Receive your print copies at home or at work so you can read and consult them comfortably and at your leisure!

Online magazine

Access our virtual space where you will find our different issues in digital format! All in one place!

Categories

Desgagnés vessel shipping containers to Toronto

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on google
Google+
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest

Publicités

[adrotate group="1"]

Articles Récents

Catégories

Un navire Desgagnés expédie des conteneurs à Toronto

 

Par Leo Ryan, rédacteur en chef

Le Claude A. Desgagnés, qui fait partie de la flotte de marchandises diverses et vraquiers du Groupe Desgagnés de Québec, expédie quelque 400 conteneurs de Montréal à Toronto via la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent. Un navire à engrenages qui peut charger et décharger des conteneurs en cas de besoin, il est parti hier. Cela fait suite à une entente avec MSC Canada en réponse à des problèmes de congestion persistants sur les réseaux ferroviaires et dans les ports de Montréal et d’Halifax à la suite d’une série de grèves de débardeurs sur le front de mer de Montréal qui ont provoqué des déroutements de navires.

Tout en soulignant que l’expédition n’était «certainement pas un service de ligne», Alexandre Beauchamp-Parent, président de Navigation Desgagnés, a fortement laissé entendre qu’elle représentait plus qu’une initiative de transport maritime à courte distance à un seul voyage.

«Nous sommes toujours à la recherche d’opportunités de solutions créatives et d’options alternatives aux problèmes de transport», a-t-il déclaré à Maritime Magazine.

M. Beauchamp-Parent a affirmé que la preuve indiquait une analyse de rentabilisation «pour la poursuite d’autres voyages similaires» pouvant inclure des conteneurs revenant à Montréal. Un deuxième voyage Montréal-Toronto est actuellement en discussion en novembre.

«Vous avez besoin de beaucoup d’ingrédients pour faire une bonne recette – mais il semble y avoir une bonne analyse de rentabilisation», a-t-il dit, ajoutant: «C’est tout un effort d’équipe entre nous, MSC, le port de Montréal, le port de Toronto , Terminal Termont et Logistec. Nous allons voir si nous pouvons faire évoluer cette option. »

Les expéditeurs de la région de Toronto-Hamilton (appelée le Golden Horseshoe) représentent le plus gros volume des 1,7 million de conteneurs d’exportation et d’importation manutentionnés au port de Montréal.

Une source de l’industrie a déclaré que «Desgagnés profite d’une fenêtre d’opportunité d’ici la fin de la saison de la Voie maritime à la fin de décembre. De plus, de nombreux conteneurs expédiés sont des caisses de chargement plus difficiles à déplacer par chemin de fer. »

Tony Boemi, vice-président de la croissance et du développement de l’Administration portuaire de Montréal, a déclaré: «l’un des principaux objectifs du premier voyage était de décongestionner le terminal Termont. Sinon, la circulation n’est pas encore tout à fait revenue à la normale au port de Montréal et l’arriéré pourrait durer encore deux semaines.

Entretemps, le port de Montréal a salué l’évènementi, déclarant: «C’est la première fois en plus d’une décennie qu’un tel envoi a lieu. En fait, la pratique du cabotage de conteneurs de Montréal aux Grands Lacs a été abandonnée au début des années 1980. Un service a été envisagé en 2009, mais a été rapidement déclassé au profit du transport en commun par camion ou par train.
Grâce à la collaboration entre Mediterranean Shipping Company et Groupe Desgagnés, les consommateurs et les entreprises de l’Ontario peuvent à nouveau bénéficier de cette solution d’expédition, qui offre aux importateurs et aux exportateurs une alternative et offre souvent des économies de temps et d’argent ainsi qu’une solution de transport plus propre.(photo Port de Montréal)

 

Partager sur facebook
Facebook
Partager sur twitter
Twitter
Partager sur linkedin
LinkedIn
Partager sur pinterest
Pinterest
Partager sur email
Email

Articles récents

Abonnement

Recevez Maritime Magazine directement chez vous!

Magazine en ligne

Accédez à notre espace virtuel dans lequel vous trouverez nos différents magazines en format numérique ! Tout à un même endroit !

Catégories