Port of Montreal hit by another strike

Port of Montreal hit by another strike

 

MONTREAL, August 8, 2020 – Local 1657 of the International Association of Longshoremen (Checkers) gave notice of strike action to their employer, the Maritime Employers Association (AEM), on Friday, August 7, 2020, starting Monday, August 10, 2020 at 3:00 p.m. for an indefinite period. This was served in accordance with the provisions of the Canada Labor Code (section 87.2).

The concerns of the auditors remain the working hours (27 days a week), and the advancement of technology with the aim of eliminating their functions and tasks.

According to the union, the MEA has not negotiated with ILA Local 1657 (checkers) since June 5, 2020. At the time, the union bargaining committee presented a counter-proposal to the MEA to which the union has not yet received a response from AEM representatives. The union has twice asked, through the federally appointed mediator, to return to the bargaining table, but to no avail.

Each container has a specific place on a ship depending on the loading plan. More than 150 male and female checkers give instructions to the longshoreman and coordinate the movement of all containers entering or leaving the various port terminals by means of trucks, trains and ships. Auditors are an integral part of the operation of the Port of Montreal.

SOURCE International Association of Longshoremen

 
 
 

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on email
Email

Recent articles

Subscription

Receive your print copies at home or at work so you can read and consult them comfortably and at your leisure!

Online magazine

Access our virtual space where you will find our different issues in digital format! All in one place!

Categories

Port of Montreal hit by another strike

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on google
Google+
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest

Publicités

[adrotate group="1"]

Articles Récents

Catégories

Le port de Montréal frappé par une autre grève

MONTRÉAL, le 8 août 2020  – La section locale 1657 de l’Association internationale des débardeurs (vérificateurs) a donné un avis de grève à son employeur, l’Association des employeurs maritimes (AEM), le vendredi 7 août 2020, commençant le lundi 10 août 2020 à 15h00 pour une période indéterminée. Cela a été signifié conformément aux dispositions du Code canadien du travail (article 87.2).

Les préoccupations des vérificateurs demeurent les horaires de travail (27 jours sur 28), et l’avancement de la technologie dans le but d’éliminer leurs fonctions et tâches.

Selon le syndicat, l’AEM n’a pas négocié avec la section locale 1657 de l’ILA (vérificateurs) depuis le 5 juin 2020. À l’époque, le comité de négociation syndical avait présenté une contre-proposition à l’AEM à laquelle le syndicat n’a pas encore reçu de réponse des représentants du AEM. Le syndicat a demandé à deux reprises, par l’intermédiaire du médiateur nommé par le gouvernement fédéral, de retourner à la table des négociations mais en vain.

Chaque conteneur a une place spécifique sur un navire en fonction du plan de chargement. Ce sont plus de 150 vérificateurs hommes et femmes qui donnent des instructions au débardeur et coordonnent le mouvement de tous les conteneurs qui entrent ou sortent des différents terminaux portuaires au moyen de camions, de trains et de navires. Les vérificateurs font partie intégrante du fonctionnement du port de Montréal.

SOURCE Association internationale des débardeurs

 
 

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on email
Email

Articles récents

Abonnement

Recevez Maritime Magazine directement chez vous!

Magazine en ligne

Accédez à notre espace virtuel dans lequel vous trouverez nos différents magazines en format numérique ! Tout à un même endroit !

Catégories